Tiffany Tries: Braised Short Ribs by Gordon Ramsay

I don’t like many celebrities chefs, but there are two in particular I have a soft spot for. First is someone I’ve been watching since I was a elementary student. Alton Brown, who’s technical explanations and explorations into the world of food has always amazed me.  The second person is the great Gordon Ramsay himself. For those who don’t know, he has a reputation for being a bad motherfucker. He’s mean, tough, and highly critical. He’s also an amazing chef.

giphy

I love him.

I recently scrolled through Facebook and found a video of him making braised short ribs and my stomach growled. The worst part, I saw the video only halfway into my vegetarian phase. Well guess what, I’m back and I’m eating meat again! In the video, he takes very simple ingredients and a straightforward technique to create heavenly looking braised short ribs.

I’ve taken his recipe and added a few of my own elements. First, I halved the amount of wine, partially because I was working with less meat. Secondly, I doubled the amount of tomato paste to 2 tablespoons.  Instead of an entire bulb of garlic, halved horizontally, I threw in whole cloves of garlic. Lastly, I added a few sprigs of thyme. The result? Heaven.

UPDATE: GORDON RAMSAY RETWEETED ME AND SAID “Looking good Tiffany”. I DIED AND WENT TO HEAVEN!

Cdn_t9pUkAAMAPj

I started by seasoning my short ribs very liberally. In a dutch oven pot, I add a tablespoon or two of olive oil and seared the short ribs.

DSC_4329

Once everything had been seared off, I added the tomato paste and allowed it to cook for a minute or so. After that, I tossed in my garlic, thyme, and poured in the wine! It was so beautiful I had to create a .gif. Orgasmic.

output_m1UW6l

Lastly, I added broth and let it simmer uncovered for 20 minutes, occasionally flipping the short ribs around.

DSC_4363

Stuck it in the oven for 2 hours and presto! Beautiful braised short ribs. I served mines with impromptu mashed potatoes and steamed garlic green beans.

DSC_4403

DSC_4406

Review: Extremely delicious and rich! The meat was tender, but had texture. Most importantly, the flavor was distinctly beef. I love how few ingredients it took to create something so complex and flavorful. Immediate mouthgasm. My family destroyed this meal so fast, I didn’t even get to pack any leftovers for myself. Lessons learned: Don’t share. Anyways, I’m glad I tried this and it’s a new all-time favorite in my recipe repository.

Braised Short Ribs

  • Servings: 2-4
  • Difficulty: Intermediate
  • Print

Original Recipe by Gordon Ramsay

Ingredients

 

  • 6 pieces of short ribs, English cut
  • 2 tbs tomato paste
  • 5 cloves of garlic, whole & peeled
  • 2-3 sprigs of thyme
  • 375 oz (half bottle) good red wine
  • 32 oz beef stock
  • ½ c crimini mushrooms, quartered
  • Salt & pepper

Directions

  1. Preheat your oven to 350F
  2. Liberally season short ribs with salt and pepper. Heat a dutch oven pot on medium-high and add vegetable oil. When oil and pot is hot, sear short ribs, 2-3 minutes per side.
  3. Once short ribs are seared, add tomato paste and cook for 2 minutes. Toss in garlic, thyme, and wine. Let wine reduce to half.
  4. Add beef stock and let simmer for 20 minutes, occasionally flipping the short ribs.
  5. Cover the pot with a lid and bake in oven for 2 hours.
  6. In the last 10-15 minutes of baking, toss in mushrooms.

What do you think?